top of page

Day One, Year One (twenty, twenty-ONE that is)

Updated: Jan 23, 2021

January 1st. This day – today – begins a brand-new year. This day helps us to think about moving forward, but also allows us to answer the question: What has this last year done FOR me? Take a moment and think about those answers and how these can help shape a better year ahead.

My answers:

- This past year has given me the greatest gift, my baby boy.

- This past year has challenged me greatly, but in those challenges has proven to me that I can accomplish anything with the love and support of my family and friends.

- This past year has allowed me to enjoy each moment I have with my family and not take any time with them for granted.

- This past year has shown me who in my life is truly present to help me grow.

- This past year has given me the tools and support needed to push through my own comfort zones.

- This past year has given me immense hope for the future and the true happiness that comes from being completely mentally and emotionally present in the moment.


I hope when you answer this question that you have more positive moments than you expected. We have all had a challenging year with COVID being at the forefront of pain and stress. Understanding what this pandemic has done FOR us instead of what it has done to us is so imperative to having a positive outlook on the year and hope for what this next year can bring us.

 

To begin a new year is to begin fresh by being true to ourselves. For me, staying true to myself with be accomplished through and accompanied by meaningful relationships, intentional eating, motivating exercise, focused study, and quality family time.


- meaningful relationships: active friendships that help you to be the person you want to be, catching up with friends because you truly care about what has been going on in their life instead of just “how are you doing” “great” “awesome, good talk.”


- intentional eating: what we put into our bodies helps us to accomplish our daily tasks at hand but can also weigh us down too. Being intentional about what we eat will help us to know how our body will react.


- motivating exercise: I have never been one to be excited about exercising, but 2020 has caused a shift in mindset that has ended up encouraging me to continue pushing myself towards my goals.


- focused study: ONE YEAR LEFT of Physician Assistant school until I graduate. This year is clinical year, and my studies will remain important throughout the entirety of it. Having a family who continuously motivates me helps to keep me focused when I need to be and to use the time I have productively.


- quality family time: each moment that I have with my family is a gift and that becomes extremely real this year when some of my time will be spent in Virginia finishing up school instead of with my family in Minnesota. Each time that I get to squeeze my baby boy or kiss my husband will be cherished.


So… how are you going to stay true to yourself this year?


I don’t believe in New Year’s Resolutions because I never accomplish them and really struggle when failure is shadowing my past. I choose things that I can push myself to work on and to better myself. These are things that I can carry over each year, but also things that I have to be mindful of each and every day. I find that resolutions are self-attainable goals, while what I have listed above are things that my friends and family can help me with and be a part of.

Here’s to making 2021 the most amazing year!


Wishing you the best year ahead and pray that it is filled with joy and love.


Michala

60 views0 comments
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page